When the name of a real estate property gets drafted, the form of ownership designated will dictate that holds the rights and tax duties for that specific property. The ownership type decides who can sell the property later on and that must sign a deed to release a property into its new owner when transferred or sold.

Separate Ownership

Independent ownership, also referred to as sole ownership or ownership in severalty, describes a form of real estate ownership where a single individual holds the name of a house. The proprietor has rights and duties for your property. Under separate ownership, the owner can sell, transfer or dispose of his house at will. Upon the sale or transfer of their property, the touch of the individual owner alone on the deed of conveyance generally fulfills requirements to release the name to the buyer or recipient.

Tenancy in Common

Tenancy in common, a form of real estate concurrent or co-ownership, entails two or more owners that hold the title to a house using undivided interest. When not indicated differently in writing on the name, the court assumes all named parties share equal ownership interest in the house. Each proprietor shares responsibility, monetary gains and rights to the house proportionate to his attention. An individual in a home in common will sell his part will or will it to heirs, at which time the new owner or owner would assume his ownership interest.

Joint Tenancy

Joint tenancy, another form of real estate co-ownership, occurs when a group of two or more owners possess an undivided and equivalent interest in a house. The four components of this sort of ownership include interest, name, time and ownership, meaning members of this group hold the same interest, acquired in precisely the same name conveyance in precisely the same period and mutually hold ownership. Joint tenants have a right of survivorship. If any owner dies, his interest gets transferred to the living remaining owner or owner. A party to a joint tenancy may communicate his interest to another party.

Community Property

For married persons from the state of California, the appellate recognizes a sort of real estate co-ownership called community property. The courts consider some real estate acquired by a married person through her or his marriage community property with the exclusion of land inherited or received as a gift during the marriage. Both spouses maintain equal rights, control and responsibilities to the property or properties. In order to communicate community property, both spouses must sign the deed of conveyance.

See related